Hitch is Gone, but the Joke is Still on Religion

I know that this may be too late, but I feel I need to write this tribute to Christopher Hitchens, whom I adored for his courage and brutal honesty. But, this being late may not actually be in vein. In recent days I’ve seen a lot of videos regarding Hitchens’ death, as I also saw a trend of twitter become filled with comments about him, many of them were from Christians and those who disliked him.

People like Rick Warren, one important enemy of reason and Homophobe, tweeted: “My friend Christopher Hitchens has died, I loved & prayed for him constantly & grieve his loss. He knows the Truth now.” There were other numerous videos on his death, people who were actually happy, but saying: “We should love him.” Or, “It’s by God’s grace that I am not feeling happy now.”

Quite an interesting dilemma: In the context of Christianity for most Christians, or many other religions and their followers, it is considered bad, or “immoral”, to feel happy for someone’s death (no matter who). Now, how ironically self refuting that is, that the same religion creates a sense of happiness in its followers for the death of its “enemies”. So, you “should not” be happy, but you “should” be happy. Or, maybe you “should not” be happy, but you cannot not be happy.

It was a huge fun to watch these religious people struggle with this dilemma, when they actually were happy, but they new they should not have been, because their religion said so! But Either way, the joke is on religion.

____________________________________

I never drink, nor do I smoke; But, I salute your memory Mr. Hitchens, may it be remembered in history of our intellectual struggle against religion.

 

Published by

thetruthfulheretic

Dear fellow Homo sapiens, or if you prefer conscious mammals! And of course, friends nonetheless: I created my blog in order to speak my very weird mind, mostly about three subjects (as I identify myself and my state of mind with them): Atheism, as I was born in the Middle East and saw and felt the affects of Islam; Homosexuality and equal rights, as a gay man who has tasted the Homophobia and also Sexism in that society; and Liberalism and political philosophy, which I think is a good ground for secular values and criticism of fundamentalism. If you wish, visit and join your state of mind to mine. I hope they don't short circuit!

One thought on “Hitch is Gone, but the Joke is Still on Religion”

  1. I dont know how others feel, as I dont know Hitchen so well.

    But when people die, the bond between living and death thing should end there. It no use for talking, cursing or what so ever action because he not going to raise from death to defend himself.

Leave a Reply

