Do Good, But not Because of Doing Good

I was watching Penn and Teller Bullshit show on YouTube the other day (its name is Bullshit, the show itself is great!), and I stumbled upon “Holier than Thou” episode. I actually had watched some episodes before, their picking on religion, pseudoscience and most of all stupidity is both funny and informing.

This particular episode was very interesting. I knew Christopher Hitchens had written about Mother Teresa and her fraud operation in India, but seeing the whole thing in 30 minutes in a fun way was very amusing. (you can watch it here, here, and here)

Now, that got me thinking: It seemed the only defendable point for Catholics in their debates against Atheists (or others), and most notably the one with Christopher Hitchens and Stephen Fry, who Fryed and Hitchslapped them and wiped the floors with them*; was their charity work. “You never mention that we do charity! You just pick on our stance about condoms and Homosexuality!”

The point that we take from Mother Teresa’s story is doing charity is not the purpose of their organised action, it is only the means to their ultimate goal: Spreading the word of their God and expanding their institution. Most of them, and most definitely the ones on the top of their organisation, do not do good to bring more good to the world, they do it to make it more Catholic…

* I’m sure most of you have, but if not, watch Hitchens and Fry in action:

Published by

thetruthfulheretic

Dear fellow Homo sapiens, or if you prefer conscious mammals! And of course, friends nonetheless: I created my blog in order to speak my very weird mind, mostly about three subjects (as I identify myself and my state of mind with them): Atheism, as I was born in the Middle East and saw and felt the affects of Islam; Homosexuality and equal rights, as a gay man who has tasted the Homophobia and also Sexism in that society; and Liberalism and political philosophy, which I think is a good ground for secular values and criticism of fundamentalism. If you wish, visit and join your state of mind to mine. I hope they don't short circuit!

Leave a Reply

