The Accident of Birth

Every night and every morn,
Some to misery are born,
Every morn and every night,
Some are born to sweet delight.
Some are born to sweet delight,
Some are born to endless night.
William Blake
I found this piece of poem in the most unlikely place, in another piece if literature, a crime novel actually: Agatha Christie’s “Endless Night”. I don’t think that the endless night is one of Christie’s best, but this piece of poem is really catchy, and the reason is it’s the truth of our story. Millions of people are born into misery, live a miserable life, and die in misery.And misery is not just a matter of money, a matter of material, it is also a matter of mind. Some are born in an ideological misery, and some of those are born to accept that misery and be its fundamental slaves. Their God has given them a brain, and they want to give it back to him just the way it was given.

How can we overcome the greatest of unfairness? “What can men do against such reckless hate?” Maybe nothing, but we can at least try…

Published by

thetruthfulheretic

Dear fellow Homo sapiens, or if you prefer conscious mammals! And of course, friends nonetheless: I created my blog in order to speak my very weird mind, mostly about three subjects (as I identify myself and my state of mind with them): Atheism, as I was born in the Middle East and saw and felt the affects of Islam; Homosexuality and equal rights, as a gay man who has tasted the Homophobia and also Sexism in that society; and Liberalism and political philosophy, which I think is a good ground for secular values and criticism of fundamentalism. If you wish, visit and join your state of mind to mine. I hope they don't short circuit!

Leave a Reply

