Good Read: Intellectual Impostures

The first time I stumbled upon “Intellectual Impostures” was when I was reading Moti Ben-Ari’s easy, but very exciting book “Just a Theory: Exploring the Nature of Science“, which I think is a great introduction into philosophy of science. At that time though, unfortunately I forgot to go after “Intellectual Impostures”. But recently I bumped into it in a bookshop, and remembering the excitement from reading about “Sokal affair” in Ben-Ari’s book, I decided to buy it.

I assure you that this book is worth it. I remember when studying about Paul Feyerabend’s Anarchistic-relativistic version of philosophy of science, I kept thinking to myself: “But there must be an answer to this nonsense!”

Aside from pointing out abuses and dishonesty of postmodernist’s “version” of philosophy and science, I think that “Intellectual Impostures” provided an answer, to my own question as well: By simply asking the postmodern relativist philosophers “What would happen if you apply your own nonsense to your ordinary lives?!”

_________________

Richard Dawkins has also written a review on this book. You can see it here.

Published by

thetruthfulheretic

Dear fellow Homo sapiens, or if you prefer conscious mammals! And of course, friends nonetheless: I created my blog in order to speak my very weird mind, mostly about three subjects (as I identify myself and my state of mind with them): Atheism, as I was born in the Middle East and saw and felt the affects of Islam; Homosexuality and equal rights, as a gay man who has tasted the Homophobia and also Sexism in that society; and Liberalism and political philosophy, which I think is a good ground for secular values and criticism of fundamentalism. If you wish, visit and join your state of mind to mine. I hope they don't short circuit!

Leave a Reply

