A Bit of Music

One of the things that makes a good piece of music even more precious is the number of times that we get back to it. It’s not just a catchy melody that keeps ringing in our head, it’s maybe occasions that makes us think about it, or times that we suddenly “feel” like listening to it. What follows is my idea of this type of music, which hunts you back:

1: Carmen: L’amour est un oiseau rebelle (or famously known as Habanera)

If you ask me which piece of music I have listened to the most, it’s this aria, and I have tried to find as many versions as I can. Which one is the best you ask me?

Julia Migenes is the best Carmen, but the best one to perform it is of course the legendary Maria Callas:

Watch Julia Migenes in 1984 version of Carmen:

And watch Maria Callas, heavenly voice:

2: There is another track that I usually come back to, and that is Emma Shapplin’s “Spente Le Stelle”. So long has this hunted my heart and my mind, especially the times that I feel defeated and lost…

See for yourself, and don’t miss this if you haven’t heard it:

Published by

thetruthfulheretic

Dear fellow Homo sapiens, or if you prefer conscious mammals! And of course, friends nonetheless: I created my blog in order to speak my very weird mind, mostly about three subjects (as I identify myself and my state of mind with them): Atheism, as I was born in the Middle East and saw and felt the affects of Islam; Homosexuality and equal rights, as a gay man who has tasted the Homophobia and also Sexism in that society; and Liberalism and political philosophy, which I think is a good ground for secular values and criticism of fundamentalism. If you wish, visit and join your state of mind to mine. I hope they don't short circuit!

Leave a Reply

